PBI – Public Broadcasters International

Public service broadcasting executives from around the world have met annually since 1991 to share experiences and ideas about how best to deal with challenges unique to public service broadcasting.

PBI was created on the initiative of TV Ontario and NHK, and was soon joined by many others including PBS, CBC, BBC, KBS, SVT, DR, NRK, SABC, RTE, and France Télévisions.

Since then more than 80 public service broadcasters – representing all continents – have become members. The PBI conference usually takes place in autumn and is hosted by a member broadcaster representing different continents on rotation. PSBs from Americas, Africa, Asia and Europe have subsequently hosted conferences.

PBI Conferences have previously been held:

2016 Montreal 2016 (Canada) CBC
2015 Munich (Germany) ARD/BR
2014 Rio de Janeiro (Brasil) EBC
2013 Washington (US) PBS
2012 London (UK) BBC
2011 Singapore MediaCorp
2010 Sintra (Portugal) RTP
2009 Kyoto (Japan) NHK
2008 Arles (France) Francetelevisions
2007 Seoul (Korea) KBS
2006 Maputo (Mozambique) RM, TVM
2005 Oslo (Norway) NRK
2004 Macao (China) TDM
2003 Krakow (Poland) Polish TV
2002 Hong Kong (China) RTHK
2001 Toronto (Canada) TVOntario, CBC
2000 Cape Town (South Africa) SABC
1999 Belfast (UK) BBC
1998 Biarritz (France) Francetelevisions
1997 Washington DC (USA) PBS
1996 Kuala Lumpur (Malaysia) RTM
1995 Prague (Czech) CTV
1994 Stockholm (Sweden) SVT
1992 Brussels (Belgium) BRTN
1991 Toronto (Canada) TV Ontario in association with NHK